Choose Your Sound

Saturday, October 15, 2022

Jungle Island

1111 Parrot Jungle Trail, Miami

7:00 PM

Presented by:

Choose Your Sound is Guitars Over Guns’ signature annual fundraising event, attended by key supporters including friends, donors, entertainment luminaries and community stakeholders.

Join us for an epic evening filled with incredible performances from students, mentors, alumni & special guests, amazing food & drinks, and an unbelievable silent auction.

What's Your Vibe?

I work with a company or foundation looking for branding opportunities & VIP benefits.

I'm an individual looking to get dressed up, bring some friends, & enjoy the show!

I'm looking for other ways to support & get involved!

Choose Your Sound Honorees

Maria Jose & Fred Wright

Fred and MJ Wright

Maria Jose “MJ” and Fred Wright have made it their life’s work to model compassion and understanding as advocates for violence prevention in our community. With a special focus on bringing resources and safe spaces to South Miami-Dade, MJ and Fred believe that education and second chances are key to providing a safer, brighter future for our youth. The Wrights have worked with Moms Demand Action, Mothers Fighting for Justice, and Guitars Over Guns to support programs that protect young people, uplift their voices and stories, and empower them to make positive choices.

MJ and Fred’s son, Jerry Wright, was one of the 49 killed at Pulse Nightclub in Orlando, Florida on June 12, 2016. Today and every day, they live with the pain, trauma, and grief of this horrific act. In Jerry’s memory, MJ and Fred take every opportunity to inform, educate, and consistently remind humanity what it costs when we do not keep peace with one another and give in to hate.

The Wrights envision a hopeful future where violence is prevented before it can even begin, by investing in vulnerable communities and supporting young people as they learn and grow. Guitars Over Guns is deeply grateful to have the support and partnership of MJ and Fred Wright, and could not be more thrilled to honor their impactful work at Choose Your Sound 2022.

GOGO Partners Program

From curtain call to final bow, our Partners make an impact every step of the way. As an official Guitars Over Guns Partner, you’re a VIP in every audience we entertain!

All partnerships include a VIP table at the event, an ad in our annual magazine, logo placement in Choose Your Sound marketing materials, and a full year of marketing exposure and engagement opportunities that include exclusive invitations and backstage passes to our events, programs & more.

Thank You To Our Partners!

Record Exec ($50,000)

MJ & Fred Wright

Producer ($25,000)

Composer ($10,000)

Wynn & Jeff Adam

Bob & Kathy Bernstein

Scott & Becki Etzler Foundation

Musician ($5,000)

Ambal, Inc.

The Bluhm Family Charitable Foundation

Band Manager ($2,500)

Ross Dakin

Medina Family Foundation


This Is Why We Do What We Do.

Meet Miah and Lee-Yahna. Our 2020 Choose Your Sound awardees are exemplary students from Miami and Chicago who uphold our mission in action.

What You Can Look Forward To

Choose Your Sound Committees


Veronica Crego, Chairperson
Jim Berry
Michael Bittel
Kim Carver
Sarah Dilihay
Alyssa Harris
Ana Mantica
Melanie Masterson
Susanna Roitman
Angelica Santibanez
Adam Savage


Lisa Anastos
Katie & Eddy Arriola
Kathy & Bob Bernstein
Hillary & Mike Cassel
Mireille Charles
Ross Dakin
Dr. Mary Beatrice De Leon & Jono De Leon
Jessica & Alex Dominguez
Cathy Gordon
Dr. Kimberly Green
Denise Minakowski
Wendy Traurig Perlin & Brian Perlin
Kent Savage
Chad Turner
Tamara & Dave Walsh
Robin & H Weitz

Road Crew

Marve Afo
Chad Bernstein
Tiffany Cannava
Jono De Leon
Carlos Gonzalez
Carly Gordon
Amanda Hale
Walker Moseley
Amy Simons